garfield4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 o’clock in the office

I feel like yawning a lot.

So taking the long route through

To the coffee machine I trot.

 

The office has secret passages

Unbarred, oldish windows;

Strips of the busy old city

Each one of them shows.

 

Further afield are rooftops

Tin tiles, dirty, broken;

Every time I look out

I hunt for a feline token.

 

On dirty, broken rooftops,

You have to have a cat;

Hunting for his dinner

Or just smugly sat.

 

Imagine my pleasure

When today I found

Not one but two – black and white –

On that rooftop ground.

 

The white seemed to be a tomcat

The black a plumpish girl;

She sat down for some grooming

Her tail in a casual curl.

 

He seemed hesitating

Waiting, watching her

Although all her attention

Was given to her fur.

 

Then very tentatively

Tom did attempt a kiss

Smack! She jumped and slapped him

With an angry hiss.

 

“Seize the moment,” I read

Not backward neither forward;

Peace must be here and now

That’s the crucial word.

 

So I saw the moment

This winter afternoon;

In the midst of crammed addresses

A moment of rare commune.

 

England, tarry awhile

This, here, is my city:

Busy, noisy, thriving

Not very serene or pretty.

 

But here in a nook, a corner

Amazing moment was that:

Calm in the midst of bustle

And one black, one white cat.

 

(Image copyright does not belong to me; words’ copyright does. So there.)

 

2 thoughts on “3 O’clock News

  1. Awesome

    Regards, Somdutta

    On Sun, Jan 31, 2016 at 1:45 PM, “tithikatha ~ (french)t-θi-kə-θʌ ~ তিথিকথা ” wrote:

    > tithikatha posted: ” 3 o’clock in the office I feel like > yawning a lot. So taking the long route through To the coffee machine I > trot. The office has secret pas” >

Leave a Reply

