tree-trunk-569275_1920

(No, this and the previous post are not part of a series of architectural poems!)

 

I sat beside the window

Watching the world pass by,

And the world has passed me by.

 

I sat and watched

The wondrous world…

I looked far; I looked high.

 

So much I planned

To join the stream

To join yet stand apart;

 

Such glorious dreams

So many a path

Took shape and filled my heart.

 

The room within

I never would see

It’s there and me in it;

 

It will be here

But the world’s changing

Can’t afford to miss a bit.

 

Such long neglect

My humble room

Such dusty corners now;

 

Warm it may be

But it’s no beauty

I see today why and how.

 

I watched the world

I dreamed the world

I turned my face away;

 

What’s always here

Will always be

One after another day.

 

I had stepped out

I tried to hold

I tried to grasp and catch;

 

In the big busy world

In the land of dreams

For me there’s nary a patch.

 

See, all my friends

And all I loved

Have been so wise and good;

 

They tidied rooms

And packed their bags

The rules they understood.

 

When I caught a glimpse

I felt so thrilled

I thought I saw it all;

 

Not just pride

But love and trust

Can come before a fall.

 

This day, the world

Turns back at me.

Is that pity or scorn?

 

“You just don’t see

Till you bump your head

My dear, when were you born?”

 

What should I say?

Excuse? Sorry?

Should I move or step back?

 

My history seems

Milestones of loss

And even before – a lack.

 

Excuse me, world

If I retreat

To my neglected room;

 

My absence won’t

Leave any big gap

I believe I rightly presume.

 

This is my room

Let’s look at it

Let’s see it closely now;

 

The dark corners…

Whose voice is that?

Some voice I didn’t allow?

 

Poor old room,

Now here I am

Now here I sit with you;

 

The window’s closed

The world may pass

But we must start anew.

 

Not too late,

It’s not too tough

Let there be struggle or strife;

 

We’ll clean you up

We’ll bring in light

Got the rest of our life.

 

(Image: pixabay)

Leave a Reply

